Web Self Service


The Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (the Commission) vide its order dated 31.03.1999 passed in case No.2/99, under the provisions of the Odisha Electricity Reform Act, 1995, had issued License to Central Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Ltd. (CESCO) Registered Office: 2nd Floor, IDCO Tower, Janpath, Bhubaneswar-751022, Dist: Khurda, Odisha, to carry out the business of Distribution & Retail Supply in the area of supply as mentioned in the said license. Under the said license, CESCO had been carrying out the Distribution and Retail Supply as its licensed activity in its area of supply as stated in the said license. The Commission revoked the license of CESCO with effect from 01.04.2005 and on 18.04.2005 the Commission appointed Chief Executive Officer and Administrator (CEO & A) to discharge the licensed activity of Central Zone Electricity Distribution and Supply Utility (CZEDSU). Later, vide order dt.08.09.2006, the Commission in exercise of power u/s 22 of the Electricity Act,2003 has formulated a Scheme named “ Central Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha ( Operation and Management ) Scheme , 2006 for operation and management of the Utility. The said Scheme shall remain in force for a period of 2 years which may be extended by the Commission in public interest. Under the provisions of said Scheme, all assets, liabilities, rights, proceedings and manpower as well as the license for distribution and supply of electricity held by CESCO has been developed and vested on Central Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha (CESU) and it has been authorized to carry out the business of distribution of electricity in accordance with license conditions in respect of area assigned to CESCO under revoked license has to abide by the directions of the Commission issued from time to time. The period of the Scheme is further extended for a period of one year w.e.f. 08.09.2010 to 07.09.2011.As per provision of aforesaid scheme, the Commission has also constituted a Management Board for the general / overall management of CESU. The scheme was again amended and extended up to 07.09.2016. Under the aforesaid Scheme, the CESU has to comply with the provisions of the Electricity Act, 2003 and other relevant statutory provisions and license conditions with regard to distribution of electricity in its area of supply.



Total customers 22,34,038
Domestic 90% (Rural Domestic-69%+ Urban Domestic-21%).
Commercial-7%, Industry-0.1%, Irragation-1%, Others-2%
B Total Input (in MU) 8466.81
C Total Billing (in MU) 5781.46
D Total Billing (in Rupees Cr.)    3083
E Total Collection (In Rupees Cr.) 2976.94
F Total Transmission  & Distribution loss (%) 31.72%
G AT &  C Loss (%) 34.07%
H BST Bill   2531.58 Cr.
I Total number of metered consumers (As on 31.03.2018) 21,96,653
(I) Total OK Metered consumers 20,32,384
(II) Total defective metered consumers 1,64,269
(III) No meter 37,385
J Total Villages Electrified 15,584
K Total Private Points Energized 16,982
L Total LI Points Energized 674
M Total Employees of all category 6407
N Total Numbers of Offices:
Circle 5(+ 2 others)
Divisions 20(+ 11 others)
Sub-Divisions 65(+ 12 others)
Sections 252

Grievance Redresal Forum

Ombudsman 1
Energy Police Station 8
No of special Courts 2



33KV Lines

3359.892 CKT Km


11KV lines

34,065.6  CKT Km


LT Lines

50,272.3  CKT Km


33 / 11KV Sub-stations

251 nos


33 / 11KV Power Transformers

566 nos

(vi) 33 / 0.4 KV Transformers & 11 / 0.4 KV Transformers 63,649 nos


33 kv feeders

166 nos


11kv feeders

847 nos


HR & A Wing
Technical Wing
Commerce Wing
Finance Wing
Consumer Relation Wing
Public Relation
Field Offices

Board Members

Sl.No. Name of Members Designation
1. Principal Secretary, Department of Energy,GoO Chairman
2 Shri  Md. Sadique Alam, IAS , Chief Executive Officer, CESU Member, Convenor
3. Principal Secretary to the Govt. 
Department of  Finance, Govt. of Odisha
4. CMD, GRIDCO / OPTCL, Janapath, Bhubaneswar Member

Prof. A.K. Tripathy,Ex-Director General,CPRI,Bangalore

HIG-213,Kanan Vihar,Phase-I,Bhubaneswar-751031


Shri Debaraj Biswal, Ex-CEO,CESU

N/1-297,IRC Village,Nayapalli,Bhubaneswar


Prof. Asit Ranjan Mohanty, Professor,Xavier Institute of Management,Bhubaneswar

8. Dr. Bijaya Kumar Sahoo, Chairman, SAI International School, 5-A, Chandaka Industrial Estate, Bhubaneswar Member
9. Shri. Alekha Chandra Malik, VR-13, Unit-VI, Bhubaneswar Member
10. Any other person/persons may be nominated by the Commission Member

Area of Operation


Total operating  Revenue districts-9 (Cuttack, Puri, Dhenkanal, Angul, Khurda, Kendrapara, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur and part of Jaipur) spread over 29,000 sq.km and covers 1.01 crore of state’s population

Total offices:

Hqrs. Office at  Bhubaneswar
5 nos. Distribution Circle Office
20 nos. Distribution Division Offices
77 nos. Sub-Division Offices
251 nos. Distribution Section Offices Headed by Jr. Managers
One APDRP Division at Bhubaneswar
One Store Division at Cuttack
  5 nos. E&MR Divisions at Bhubaneswar, Khurda, Cuttack, Dhenkanal and Paradeep  
  5 nos. MRT Division at Bhubaneswar, Khurda, Cuttack, Dhenkanal and Paradeep  
  Grievances Redressal Forums at Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Khurda, Dhenkanal and Paradeep  
  OMBUDSMAN office at Bhubaneswar  
  Energy Police Stations at Cuttack, Khurda, Dhenkanal, Angul, Puri, Nayagarh, Kendrapara & Jagatsinghpur.  
  Electricity Call Centre and Customer Care Centre at  Power House Square Bhubaneswar and one at Khandagiri.